The Anchor of the Chinese Boat

4 12 2006

My mom is a small anchor. She’s not much of an anchor, really. Anchors sit there on the bottom of the ocean. And my mom is the opposite. Number one, she would rather be dead than caught alive just sitting there, staring out into space. And she doesn’t like to swim.

But on the other hand, she is an anchor for the Chinese AM Radio here in Houston. You can actually hear her up there in her own little fifteen minute show. I once went with her over to the recording studio. Let me show you just how it felt to see what it was, and be on the radio.

If you like gadgets, you would love to hear this: it was drowning with stuff here that I thought it must be strange the air didn’t shock me from all that electricity that’s floating around. Yep, there were microphones, tuning devices, advanced volume controls, computers, stands, chairs, screens, monitors, you name it!

That paticular day, I had just learned a little tune about love (I was really small then). So when I was sitting there humming it just because it was stuck in my head, the recording lady heard it. She asked me, “How would you like to be on the radio humming that very tune?”

The first thing that hit me was that I was going to be famous. The second thing that hit me was that I was only going to be famous in the Chinese people. The third thing that hit me was that I was going to be famous for the thirty people that probably actually listened to that particular station.

So, I just grabbed one of the twisty microphones, twisted it onto the stand, and pulled it over to me. The whole thing was twisted about 720 degrees and it hadn’t fallen off! I was impressed. Then, I put on one of those headphones. At once, I could not hear anything other than the presentation.

It was then that I heard my mom’s voice. Before she talked, she took a deep breath, closed her eyes tight for five seconds, then opened them. As soon as the recording lady gave her a thumbs up, she began to talk.

“Ah, good morning!” and then her mind is open. She talked and talked and talked as if she were saying a very emotional story in a very emotional way. I hummed my little tune, and this time both my mom and the recording lady gave me a thumbs up.

That was the day all the “isn’t that the kid I heard on the radio” and “look, he sounds just like that kid on radio” stuff. The radio presentation actually just pushed it even more since my mom already wrote a book about me. And then she wrote a book about the times my mom and me had together.

And after that she published her articles on the newspaper. After all this, a lot of people look at me and whisper. But still not the majority of the people. But I didn’t expect everyone to gasp and look in wonder.

It’s just nice to put in perspective how many Chinese people in Houston don’t read the newspaper, didn’t read my mom’s book, and don’t listen to the radio.

I just had to chuckle after all this comparing.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

